Icy Diamonds + Battle of the Rhinestones

Hey there! So, you know what went into today’s manicure? Pain, suffering, and lots of topcoat. Ok, I’m being a bit dramatic, but this was my first time using rhinestones. Even with using the special pointed tweezers to pick them up, it was a minor disaster. They’re tiny, they jump out of the tweezers if gripped the wrong way, and I had one heck of a time getting them onto my nails. 

Here’s the manicure I’m bellyaching about:

BL & SC mani     

Shown in natural lighting. What you see is: one coat of OPI Glitter-Off, 3 coats of Sinful Colors Ice Dream (a blue and silver glitter) over one coat of butter LONDON Diamond Geezer (a dense silver foil). On the nails with the rhinestones, there are two coats of BL Diamond Geezer. Finished with Essie Good to Go (of which I kept having to apply more coats to get the rhinestones to stick). Rhinestones are from the Born Pretty Store.

BL & SC mani

All the fuss about rhinestones aside, I think this manicure actually turned out pretty well. Sure, it looks rather tacky now, but I think this would be hot (or rather, cool?) around the holidays. This feels like what Elsa from Frozen might have on her nails.

BL & SC mani

 

I layered Sinful Colors Ice Dream over the butter LONDON because Ice Dream is a little sparse on its own. I swatched two thick coats of Ice Dream on a nail wheel below to show this:

Sinful Colors Ice Dream

Sinful Colors Ice Dream does resemble China Glaze Lorelai’s Tiara, which is why I bought it. I don’t have the China Glaze to compare, but I’m happy I own Ice Dream (even if it is on the sparse side).

Thanks for reading!

❤ Jessica

 

Leave a Reply

