Sparkle in the City: China Glaze Skyscraper

Hi and happy Labor Day! I hope you all are having a great one, whether you’ve chosen to brave the crowds to fry yourself on the beach or to just stay at home and enjoy some down time. I’m in the latter category; I love the beach but I didn’t feel like dealing with the traffic or the crowds this year. 

I feel like I should be sporting ‘last blast of summer’ shades like bright corals or punchy yellows, but instead I have been craving glitter. Today I have for you a nice one–China Glaze Skyscraper. It has silver sparkles packed into a semi-sheer navy blue base.

China Glaze Skyscraper

 

Shown here, in natural lighting, is one thin coat of OPI Glitter-Off Base Coat, 2 thick coats of China Glaze Skyscraper, and Essie Good to Go. Just look at that navy blue sparkly goodness! It reminds me of a beautiful starry night sky. On that topic, I can’t confirm if this is a dupe for the incredibly hard-to-find Essie Starry Starry Night (which I dreamed of owning back when I first became a lacquer addict). However, from what I’ve seen online of the Essie, the China Glaze is a close enough match to make me happy.

China Glaze Skyscraper

 

Another natural lighting photo. I wore this to meet a favorite author of mine who was in town recently–so now it has that memory associated with it, which is cool. 

China Glaze Skyscraper

 

My nails look all uneven in this picture–I don’t know why.

China Glaze Skyscraper

 

Here is a thumb and label picture. No, this polish does not have orange streaks in it! I wore a bright orange t-shirt the day I photographed this and my nail is reflecting it, haha.

China Glaze Skyscraper

 

Finally, an awkward side-profile picture. 

China Glaze Skyscraper Quick Review

Formula: Not the best–thick and gloopy. However, my bottle is old (I bought it a few years ago) and glitter polishes get thick and gloopy over time. I probably should have added some thinner before application. I used two thick coats to get it opaque.

Collection: China Glaze Metro Collection, Fall 2011

Where to buy: I found mine on sale at Ulta. However, since this isn’t a current release, you may have trouble finding it in stores. You may stumble upon it at a retailer that sells China Glaze (Ulta, Sally Beauty Supply, etc.), but if you’re determined to get your hands on it, I suggest searching Amazon or eBay.

Would I wear again: Yes–but I would add thinner to the bottle before applying!

Overall: 4/5 stars

Thanks for reading!

❤ Jessica

Leave a Reply

