Mannequin Hands with Essie’s Topless and Barefoot

Hello! It’s Wednesday–which means we’re nearly halfway through the week! Woo-hoo! Anyway, today I have for you my perfect nude shade. To give you some idea, I have very fair skin with slightly cool undertones. I’m not sure what that would be in MAC’s makeup system, as I don’t wear MAC foundation, but I can say that I always wear the lightest shade of foundation in any make-up line. 

Anyway, without further ado, here is Essie Topless and Barefoot.

  Essie Topless and Barefoot with bottle    

Shown here is OPI Ridge-Filling Base Coat, 2 coats of Essie Topless and Barefoot, and Essie Good To Go. This is natural lighting. This polish is definitely significantly pinker than what this picture is showing; I need to work on my picture-taking skills.

Essie Topless and Barefoot

Ok, this is a little more accurate to how it looks in real life, but my skin isn’t quite so red as it looks in this picture. Ugh. 

Essie Topless and Barefoot label

Here it is again, looking decidedly not pink-toned when it should be. Argh. Anyway, the important thing is that I have finally found a flattering nude polish for my skin tone. 

The next question I asked myself was: How does this compare to OPI My Very First Knockwurst? See the results below. The Essie is on the left, the OPI is on the right.

Essie T&P vs. OPI MVFK

While both polishes are technically pink-toned nudes, the OPI is significantly pinker and a little dustier than the Essie. The OPI also has a slightly better formula. However, the OPI definitely has a more awkward name. (Yes, I consider stuff like this when comparing polishes.)

Essie Topless and Barefoot Quick Review

Formula: Awful! I used a ridge-filling base coat (my secret weapon for problem polishes) and the polish still streaked and ran. It has a very thin and runny formula. I think it was only with the grace of the polish gods that I did not flood all my cuticles. I pulled it off in two coats, though.

Collection: Essie A French Affair, Spring 2011

Where to buy: I found mine at Ulta. However, since this is an older polish, you may not be able to find it in brick-and-mortar stores. If you absolutely must track it down, I suggest checking Amazon.

Would I wear again: Yes, but I’ll have to be in the mood to deal with the horrible formula.

Overall: 3.5/5 stars

Thanks for reading!

❤ Jessica

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mannequin Hands with Essie’s Topless and Barefoot

Leave a Reply

